Arthur Wing Pinero Quotes

Arthur Wing Pinero Quote: The sorrow is mine  and mine only.

Those who love deeply never grow old they may die of old age, but they die young.

Arthur Wing Pinero

There are two sorts of affection - the love of a woman you respect, and the love for the woman you love.

Arthur Wing Pinero

It is not too late for us, in our own lives, to pit the highest interpretation upon that word—Love. Think of the inner sustaining power it would give us! We agree to go through the world together, preaching the lesson taught us by our experiences.

Arthur Wing Pinero (The Notorious Mrs. Ebbsmith, 1895)

Dreams are only a hash-up of one's day-thoughts.. Think intently of anything, and it's bound to come back to you at night.

Arthur Wing Pinero (The Second Mrs. Tanqueray, 1893)

The sorrow is mine and mine only.

Arthur Wing Pinero (The Profligate, 1889)

Fingerprints will always show however faint.
Once you smear it, or you scratch it,
It's impossible to match it.

Arthur Wing Pinero (Mind the Paint, 1912)

Darling, if we promise each other to forget, to forget, we're bound to be happy. After all, it's a mechanical matter ; the moment a wretched thought enters your head, you quickly think of something bright — it depends on one's will.

Arthur Wing Pinero

I couldn't foresee that I was doomed to pay the price all nervous men pay forsuccess; that the greater my success became, the more cancer-like grew the fear of never being able to continue it, to excel it; that the triumph of today was always to be the torture of tomorrow.

Arthur Wing Pinero (The Notorious Mrs. Ebbsmith, 1895)

I believe the future is only the past again, entered through another gate.

Arthur Wing Pinero

Arthur Wing Pinero Biography

Born: May 24, 1855
Died: November 23, 1934

Arthur Wing Pinero was an English actor and dramatist. He is best known for his successful plays. He wrote nearly 60 plays during his lifetime, many which were greatly esteemed during his time.

Notable Works

The Magistrate (1885)
The Profilgate
The Second Mrs. Tanqueray (1893)
The Notorious Mrs. Ebbsmith (1895)